F33 Center Board knocking

Anything that doesn't fit into the other Physical Systems categories
Goose13

F33 Center Board knocking

Post by Goose13 »

For the last week I've been Beating my Ketch up the coast of California and when I have the centerboard down going up wind I get a lot of knocking noise in the trunk from the board shifting around. Since I'm new to the boat is this noise considered normal? Its really annoying sound when your trying to get some sleep off shift.
Doug and Marie
Millennnium Falcon F33 CK cb #4
1980 wish bone booms Electric Drive

bad

Re: F33 Center Board knocking

Post by bad »

Did you buy the baby blue one that was for sale in down south last year?

When we had our F40 CC surveyed, the surveyor and I lifted the center board with a plank to unweight it off the pin it pivots on, then wiggled it side to side to get a senses of the amount of play. He thought it was fine, I have no idea :). Doesn't make a lot of sound while sailing. I did see remnants off some shims at the bottom of the trunk during our last haulout from the po.

You could try putting on some tension on the lifting wire and or change the position of the board to see if it changes things for the better.

At some point I would like to inspect the pin and bushing on our boat.... looks like a project though.

Erik

1980raven

Post by 1980raven »

My F28 CKCB makes noise when sailing in waves above 6' otherwise its pretty quiet. I have not tried to sleep underway so I can't comment in if it is sleep disturbing. Wish I was beating up the Cali coast. That would sure be better than being frozen in the cove here in Rhode Island.
Freedom 28 CK Hull# 14, centerboard, wrap around sails with WB booms
Narragansett Bay, RI

Castaway

Post by Castaway »