Autohelm (Raymarine) 6000

Batteries, Generators, Solar, Wind and Electronics
ketch22

Autohelm (Raymarine) 6000

Post by ketch22 »

My autopilot is acting oddly. When I request it to hold a heading, it behaves intermittently, sometimes working well, and sometimes drifting off course gradually and sometimes making a drastic course change until it hits the end of travel. It worked fine in July and august, but no longer. Has anybody else had this problem?

This particular autopilot has worked well for many years and perhaps 10 to 15 thousand miles. I'm in Florida and on my way to Panama and would like to know its working before I head off shore. Any thoughts?

Tom
Ketch 22

THATBOATGUY

Re: Autohelm (Raymarine) 6000

Post by THATBOATGUY »

I know this is basic and I don't mean to be insulting but has anyone stowed anything metal near the compass recently? So many times as a tech I've heard your exact story; provisioning for a big trip, crew looks for places to put canned goods... "wow, here is this cabinet with only plastic bags and that little black thingy".

George
George and Kerri Huffman S/V Marquesa Freedom 40 CC CK Sail MarquesaImage

Hans

Post by Hans »

Erratic changes in course seems to be caused by erratic signals from the compass. Faulty cable or corroded contacts?

I experienced something similar also with a Raymarine 6000 after installing a more powerful Balmar alternator with a smart regulator.
This senses alternator and battery temp. and changes output constantly. With this more powerful output with changing field the sensing compass
proved to be too close to the alternator ( 6 ft). Solution: new compass position and everything workes fine since.

Succes, Hans
Hans Hansen, Makkum,The Netherlands.
Freedom 45AC #47 "Scherezade".

ketch22

Post by ketch22 »